Our Story

A Triumphant Path

We give our fondest tribute to Reverend Lincoln Leung, who devoted his entire life to the Lord by examples. He led our Society through critical times and set off for our mission of revising the Chinese Union Version.

Rev Lincoln Leung

“What has drawn me to the work of Hong Kong Bible Society? Being a Chinese born in mainland China, I long to see the gospel spread on the land of China. The Bible represents supremacy, the best media above pastors to spread the good news to every heart. I enjoy the opportunities to be a partaker of the work of Hong Kong Bible Society.”

Rev Leung put words into actions and led our Society through difficulties and important times. “When the Society was in need of a General Secretary, I was a new retiree who was making a satisfactory recovery from surgeries. Therefore, I joined the Society in 1999 to 2000 as Honorary General Secretary.” Despite a short but meaningful time, besides participating renowned world conferences, Rev Leung successfully bridged the Hong Kong Christian Council and The Hong Kong Chinese Christian Churches Union to co-organize the first “Bible Ministry Exhibition of the Church in China”, leading our Society to carry on with the work of the United Bible Societies to revise the Chinese Union Bible.

Rev Leung and our Society had long been connected since 1961 when Rev Leung was a fresh graduate back from the US. Our Society had invited him to join us but Rev Leung was more aspired to raise and grow his church. Rev Leung never ceased supporting our work, though. Until 1982, he became our board member for more than a decade.

Rev Leung was always ready to serve and run an extra mile. He was the chairman of the Hong Kong Chinese Christian Churches Union and the President of the Methodist Church, Hong Kong. In 1979, he led the world’s first Pastoral Delegation to China. Being off the frontline going through big surgeries didn’t deter Rev Leung’s commitment in our projects. He journeyed to different parts of the world, not missing seminaries in China, to introduce and promote the Revised Chinese Union Bible.

Rev Leung gave sermons and lectures with vigour. He captured the attention of audience with unique, incisive viewpoints concerning the Revised Chinese Union Bible. “I read and compared the Chinese Union Bible and Revised Chinese Union Bible every morning.” Rev Leung used to explain with both Bibles in his hands. “Take for an example, in John, chapter 9, verse 35, the traditional Chinese Union Bible presents ‘Jesus met that blind man’, whereas the Revised Chinese Union Bible presents ‘……and when he found him……’. ‘Found’ induces active and in-depth interpretations.”

For fifty years, Rev Leung immersed himself in growing and raising churches, while keenly promoting the Revised Chinese Union Bible. He lived out his personal mission, “born a Chinese”, loved China and willed for more Chinese to know the Bible.

We give our tribute to Rev Leung with heartfelt gratitude. He remains an impactful example of “faith”. Hurdles of Bible translation cannot dismiss our thoughts of him and his profound sharing, “it is a beautiful experience of walking with the Lord.”


Room 902, Oriental Centre, 67 Chatham Road South, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong. (852) 2368 5147  (852) 2311 0167  info@hkbs.org.hk

我们的故事

给我们留下美好的脚踪

怀念我们的荣誉董事梁林开牧师,一生奉献于主,他看重圣经,身体力行,带领香港圣经公会度过一段非常艰难又重要的日子,就此展开了《和合本》修订之路。

梁林开牧师

「为甚么投入圣经公会的事工?我生于中国,身为中国人,很希望福音在中国遍传。圣经是最高的权威、最好的媒介,即使没有牧师,圣经也会向人说话,向人讲解福音,我很高兴可以参与圣经的事工。」

正如梁牧师所言,他看重圣经,而且身体力行,带领香港圣经公会度过一段艰难又重要的日子。「有一段时间,香港圣经公会未有总干事人选,我又刚退休不久,手术后的康复情况不错,便于1999至2000年担任香港圣经公会的义务总干事。」时间虽短,却很有意义:梁牧师出席了多次世界性会议,又成功建议中国「两会」首次举办中国教会圣经事工展览,并带领香港圣经公会承接联合圣经公会的工作,主导《和合本》的修订事工。

其实梁牧师与香港圣经公会渊源深厚,早于1961年,他刚从美国毕业回港,便获邀参与香港圣经公会的工作。但他的心志是牧养教会,于是婉拒了这个邀请。即使如此,他还是一直支持香港圣经公会,在1982年更结下不解缘,正式担任香港圣经公会的董事,一做便十多个年头。

无论任何时候,无论在哪里事奉,梁牧师都是「一马当先」。他担任香港华人基督教联会主席,又是香港循道卫理联合教会会长。1979年,他带领全世界第一队牧师团到内地探访。现在梁牧师已全线退下,又经历了几次大型手术,但仍「瞓身」协助香港圣经公会,走访世界各地,加拿大、印度尼西亚、马来西亚、中国内地神学院都留下他的脚踪,劳碌奔波,向不同地方的人推介《和合本修订版》。

年纪不轻的他,每次上台讲道,仍非常用劲,字字铿锵有力,台下的信徒无不全神贯注。而最吸引人的,还是他对《和合本修订版》独到的见解。「我每天早上都会把《和合本修订版》和《和合本》拼在一起阅读,这为我对经文的理解带来新的亮光。」梁牧师说着更随手拿起一本圣经翻开讲解。「例如在约翰福音9章35节,《和合本》指耶稣『遇见』那盲人,但在《和合本修订版》却用『找到』,『找到』的意思更积极和深远。」

五十年前,梁牧师全心投入牧养行列,今天他仍孜孜不倦地推广《和合本修订版》。正如他所说,「他是中国人」,他深爱中国,毕生都尽力让更多中国人认识圣经。

梁林开牧师,我们感谢您对圣经事工的坚持,在您身上我们学到何谓「信心」;不论圣经翻译的道路是何等难行,但是我们不会忘记您的教导,与神同行是最美的事!我们永远怀念您!


香港九龙尖沙咀漆咸道南67号安年大厦902室(852) 2368 5147  (852) 2311 0167  info@hkbs.org.hk