Our Story

The momentous development of Bible Societies began with a young girl……

Mary Jones was born in Wales, UK in 1784. She attended worship every week and longed for her own Bible. After working and saving very hard for six years, Mary journeyed to buy her Bible in Wales language. 

In 1804, the world’s first Bible Society, the British and Foreign Bible Society was formed. It is Mary Jones’ story of perseverance that sparks global development of Bible Societies.

Mary Jones was born in Wales, UK in 1784. A girl diligent at learning God’s Word strived to own a Bible. However, it was uncommon those days to own printed Bibles which were generally unaffordable. For little Mary, the cost of one Bible was over-bearing. She treasured every opportunity to work and save hard on meagre earnings from performing household chores for neighbours. Six years gone by, she now had enough money to buy a Bible in Wales language.

It was summer of 1800, and Mary set off for a lone journey around mountains and across streams for a whole day to arrive at the town of Bala. When Mary learned that the last copy of the Bible was being reserved by another customer, she cried out of desperation. Her deep yearning for God’s Word moved Mr Charles, the seller of Bibles. He decided to sell this Bible to Mary instead of keeping it on reserve.

Mary Jones’ yearning for Bible out of pure faith and determination to overcome challenges stands as an encouraging example for many people. It inspired the stronger commitment of Mr Charles in Bible printing. Four years later, the British and Foreign Bible Society was established, setting out movements of Bible Societies. There are now 146 Bible Societies across the globe.


Room 902, Oriental Centre, 67 Chatham Road South, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong. (852) 2368 5147  (852) 2311 0167  info@hkbs.org.hk

我们的故事

圣经公会运动,由一个小女孩说起……

1784年,玛莉.钟斯(Mary Jones)在英国韦尔斯出生。她每星期都参加教会崇拜,渴望拥有一本属于自己的圣经,她努力赚钱,积蓄六年,长途跋涉,终于买了一本韦尔斯语的圣经。

1804年,全球首家圣经公会—英国圣经公会成立,而这全球圣经公会的运动,始自一个小女孩的动人故事。

玛莉.钟斯(Mary Jones)于1784年在韦尔斯出生,她每星期都参加教会崇拜,渴望拥有一本属于自己的圣经,可是当时圣经并不普及,而且价钱非常昂贵,年纪小小的玛莉又怎能负担得起呢?她努力帮助邻居做些零碎工作,赚取少许金钱,积蓄六年,她终于有足够金钱买一本韦尔斯语的圣经了。

1800年夏天,十六岁的玛莉独自上路,攀山越岭,经过整整一天路程,她终于到了巴拉镇,可惜,她还是迟了,最后一本圣经被人订购了。玛莉忍不住哭起来……查尔斯牧师深受感动,于是把预订的最后一本圣经让了给玛莉。

这事以后,玛莉对圣经的渴慕和她那颗单纯、不辞劳苦的心,感动了不少人。查尔斯牧师决意为人们多印圣经。四年后,英国圣经公会终于正式成立,开展了全球圣经公会运动,时至今日已发展成拥有146家圣经公会。


香港九龙尖沙咀漆咸道南67号安年大厦902室(852) 2368 5147  (852) 2311 0167  info@hkbs.org.hk